z

Young Writers Society

User Profiles Have Just Been Updated

425 Reviews

Reviews: 425
Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:53 am
View Likes
Nate says...

User profiles on the Young Writers Society have just finished a huge update. Indeed, the entire format has changed and a lot of new stuff has been added.

Now, this is a huge update. Everything about user profiles has been rewritten line by line, which is something I've never done before. Even the portfolio system received a total re-write, which was an incredibly frustrating and tedious task!

Since this is a total re-write, chances are that there's a few bugs. I've done my best in testing it out over and over again, but there's always a few I miss. If you come across a bug, please report it.

In any case, start fooling around with them!

Edit 1
Okay, one bug. You can't go any further than the first page of the guestbook (now the 'wall'). Will fix this later.

Edit 2
Now that I've had some sleep and feel somewhat rested, I thought I'd share what's coming next.

The new profiles are actually just the first of three features/updates that are designed to make YWS feel more like a social network than it has before. The second feature will be a notifications area, and this will let you know when you've received a new comment on your wall, a reply to one of your comments on someone else's wall, when someone has started following you, comment to a topic you posted, reply to a blog entry you made, etc. The notifications area will be on the front page of My YWS, and there'll also be a small place afforded to it in the header (next to the search box at the very top).

The third feature is the newsfeed, which I've talked about a lot recently. Whereas the notifications area is all about you, the newsfeed is all about the people you're following. You'll be notified through your newsfeed when someone you're following has made a status update, posted a new literary work, made a blog entry, liked something, etc.