But we look good together,
We help us to grow,
It’s not real,
But shall we dance?

447 Reviews

Reviews: 447
Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:36 pm
Duskglimmer says...

This seems a little too simplistic and repetative. I don't really get where you're coming from, or why you're writing this from the poem. It just sounds like you felt the need to write something and so you put this together.

But I do like the idea of the last few stanzas. I think you could build on that and make a really great poem.
The robbed that smiles, steals something from the thief. ~William Shakespeare, Othello
Boo. SPEW is watching.

Random avatar

Reviews: 1160
Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:41 pm
Elizabeth says...

Aragh this was just like another poem that I read... it went on and on with the last line from the stanza being th first to the next....

And do you mean DANCE as in date? I mean, I am studying under a very strict English teacher and we don't use slang... I'm afraid he might hit me... (+_-)

Sort of what Duskglimmer said, why did you write this?

701 Reviews

Reviews: 701
Tue Mar 15, 2005 3:44 am
bubblewrapped says...

I have to admit I hated most of it. No offense, but it was just...there wasnt enough depth for my taste. The concept is good, but it lacks poetic grace. However, there are some things you could do to make it better, and if the last stanza is anything to go by, you do have the potential to be quite a good poet - you certainly have a talent for timing.

You played with my heart,
You twisted,
Confused me,
You made me believe.

OK, well, kind of cliche but I'll go with it. If I were you I'd delete the repetition of "you made me believe" and tack on "that love is real" to this verse; it suits your rhythm much better. Also, it should be "that love *was* real", since you're speaking in the past tense.

You made me believe,
That love is real,
And that we were in love,
You lied to me.