Young Writers Society

YWS Common Place Books

696 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 696
Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:02 am
Audy says...

What is a Common Place Book?

"A commonplace book is what a provident poet cannot subsist without, for this proverbial reason, that 'great wits have short memories:' and whereas, on the other hand, poets, being liars by profession, ought to have good memories; to reconcile these, a book of this sort, is in the nature of a supplemental memory, or a record of what occurs remarkable in every day's reading or conversation. There you enter not only your own original thoughts, (which, a hundred to one, are few and insignificant) but such of other men as you think fit to make your own, by entering them there."
—from "A Letter of Advice to a Young Poet" by Jonathan Swift

Think of it as a notebook filled with quotes, poems, song lyrics, ideas, or tidbits of conversations that have stuck with you. Over time you will find that this book becomes your central resource for inspiration, enjoyment, and introspection as you flip back through the years.

Traditionally, they have been used and continue to be used by many influential people including John Locke, Thomas Jefferson, even H.P. Lovecraft and Bill Gates!

Tips!

A good tip for starting one of your own is to not just record facts or images, but to also quickly add a line or two of your own thoughts and impressions of what you’re collecting. Also, be sure to READ! Read everything and all that you can, books, reviews, articles, stories and poems online, the more, the merrier!

The great thing about NaPo is that we can all read and write simultaneously together as a group, so you can bet that a lot of lines from these NaPo poems make the perfect resource for any commonplace book ^_^

Examples!