z

Young Writers Society

Chocoholic's Cheerful Critiques!

516 Reviews

Reviews: 516
Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:25 am
chocoholic says...

This is (obviously) my critique thread. If you would like a critique from me, just post the link here and I'll get to it as soon as I can. But first, some important information.

Why Should You Choose Me To Give You A Critique?

I'm an Instructor on YWS and I do my best to help out others with their work. Not only that, but my friends outside YWS are always asking me to read their stories and tell them what I think. I'm constantly getting good marks on English assignments, so I know what I'm talking about. Also, I have two blue stars.

What Do I Focus On In A Critique?

It depends on what you want! Usually I'll point out the grammatical/spelling errors and then go on to tell you what I did/didn't like about the piece. I'll point out what I didn't understand and what I don't think goes well or what you could add in. But if you want me to focus on something in particular, just tell me and I'll do my best.

What Don't I Approve Of In A Piece? or Rating Restrictions

I'll critique pieces of any rating, but please, no explicit sex scenes. Violence and swearing is fine, though.

What Do I Critique?

Other Fiction
Romantic Fiction
Historical Fiction - I'll critique any period of history, but if it's anything other than Ancient Egypt/Rome, The Tudors or WW2, I won't be able to point out any historical mistakes, only general writing ones
Fantasy/Sci-Fi/Action - I'll critique these, but I can't promise they'll be very good, but I'll try
For Lyrics, post in this thread
Scripts

What Don't I Critique?

Poetry
Art
Fan-Fiction

Some Other Things To Think About

1. Please don't bother asking me for a poetry or art critique. You won't get it.
2. I'm only taking five critiques at a time. If the list is full, please wait for an opening.