z

Young Writers Society

American Psycho

Random avatar

Reviews: 2
Mon Jul 28, 2008 6:58 am
lucafont90 says...

Just finished this pretty graphic novel an hour or so ago and must say that I was quite impressed by the level of writing. Ellis is indeed an original. Though the novel is filled with sex, murder, and the macabre, it is all at once a satire of the 1980's.

The story is told through the eyes of Patrick Bateman, who also appeared in Ellis' previous novel, The Rules of Attraction. He works at Price and Price by day, but works as a serial killer at night.

All in all, the novel is fairly good, though it is not my favorite.
I am a published author with two novels on the market.

402 Reviews

Reviews: 402
Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:43 pm
Clo says...

My boyfriend made me watch the movie of this book, and I was really disappointed with it. Now I'm a little wary of the book - it's not the gore, violence and sex that deterred me (that made it INTERESTING). I was just really upset with the ambiguous ending. It just seemed like no effort was put into it.

Of course, that was the movie. But like I said, it puts me off to the book. Maybe I shooould give it a chance...
How am I not myself?

Reviews: 4
Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:08 am
View Likes
Kakburken says...

The book is very different from the movie. First of all, the gore is tenfold worse. Really, the movie is nothing compared to it.

I really like American Psycho since mr. Ellis succeeds so well in making Bateman into a true psychopath. The first person view point really brings out his rabid perfectionism and callous attitude towards his world and the people around him. While Patrick knows a great deal of things in great detail and can keep up a flawless exterior he's completely lost when it comes to basic emotions. He doesn't feel, he acts because he knows he should. I think that's a great achievement of the author.