z

Young Writers Society

Element

10 Reviews

Reviews: 10
Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:15 am
Hermes says...

This isn't my first attempt at a novel, but it's probably my most serious one. I'd love to post the outline but knowing the ending ruins the biggest plot twist in the whole book! This is supposed to be an action/modern fantasy type of thing. It may get a bit political as the story evolves, bear with me. I'm not good at writing good lengthed chapters so if there's a part that needs "more", please tell me about it!

Updates

Prologue - Chapter V Finished
Finished/Near Finished date - January September 2008
The prologue is cut because of some plot changes. *cuts prologue*

I

Rain fell up on the frayed streets of the city. Bits of trash swirled and danced about the street corners in the gusting wind, a stand in soul for the desolate roads of the district.. Fragments of it swung about poles and twirled down into alleyways, disappearing in the shadows. Thunder boomed loudly off in the distance, hinting playfully at the coming storm.. Clouds loomed overhead, drifting lazily through the gray, listless sky. Holly could hear the screams of anonymous victims reaching out from unknown alleyways. The faint smell of garbage and decay filled the air. She looked up at the buildings as she walked down the empty street. The facades of the old shops were covered in shadows, the foundations feeble and crumbling. Boards hung loosely off shattered windows. Holly stopped on a street corner and watched as the rain and the sewage dragged an old photograph into the depths of a storm drain. A police car sped down the street after an unknown criminal, its sirens blaring. Holly sighed, gathering her jacket around her as she continued through the deserted section of the old city. Sounds from unknown sources reached her ears and made her jump. She frowned at her self and continued on her way, listening to the faint tap of her shoes against the cracked concrete.