z

Young Writers Society

Need Help!

106 Reviews

Reviews: 106
Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:55 pm
Flux says...

Hey, so if you notice, I'm only thirteen. I think I have no talent for writing whatsoever (I don't believe in saying you're good at something unless you successful) but I am a dedicated writer. I write almost everyday, as good as I can.

I've been thinking about publishing seriously since last summer. And I'm wondering how to go about it. I haven't finished any novels yet, and I've found some contests to enter, but sadly those won't let me send to a publisher if I send a copy to them.

So, I need some help. If you've got any tips to help prepare me, and what to do before I send something to publishing, where's a good company that might look over my work, etc., etc. I need to know absolutely everything. So that I know what to do when the time comes (and it will!) And so that can also look really smart in front of my parents.

So you can post here if you have any tips, or you can pm me. Either way i'll get it. Thanks!

LaReina!
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person.

Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth."

-- Oscar Wilde

158 Reviews

Reviews: 158
Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:28 pm
Lauren says...

At your age, the chances of getting published are very small :( But it's not impossible.
Usually writers who seek publication would employ a literary agent first, which can be found easily on the web. It's their job to promote your work to publishers. They have loads of connections and influence in the publishing world.
However, I don't think you'll have much luck that way. Lit agents are out for a profit and the chances of your getting publishing at so young an age are slim.
But you could try.