No votes

Total votes : 1

59 Reviews

Reviews: 59
Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:57 pm
Reuben A says...

You won't understand this if you haven't read the prologue: topic37432.html

CHAPTER I
Under a great big willow, surrounded by miles soft green turf, Rachel sat, her nose buried deep in a big leather-bound book. She lifted her head. In the distance, green hills could be seen encircling her small valley. Rachel came from the only village within the valley. It's name was Stanio, and was made almost entirely of small wooden houses with thatched roofs. About a meter from the first hut, the turf stopped, and the dirt roads started. The only road that wasn't dirt, was the central road, which was cobbled, and led far away, over the hills and beyond. No-one knew where the road led, because no-one was allowed to go past the hills. It was said that beyond the hills lay evil. But Rachel's dad, a blacksmith by trade, disagreed with this. Rachel returned her attention to her book. Suddenly, she heard a loud cry. On the soft turf, just far enough for Rachel not to have noticed them was a big circle of people shouting:
"Fight! Fight!"
Rachel closed her book, and started walking towards the circle. She pushed through the crowd of children to get to the center. On the grass, there lay Elvy, Rachel's twin brother, with Zuriagh sitting on top of him, hitting Elvy with all his might.
"Zuriagh! Stop!" Rachel cried out. No-one heard her. With all her might she pushed Zuraigh off Elvy. Bending over Elvy, she saw that his nose was clearly broken, and his face was seriously bruised. Behind her the crowd was dispersing.
"Elvy, are you Ok?" Rachel asked. No answer. Out of her pocket, she pulled a small wooden whistle her dad had given to her for if Elvy got hurt again. She blew on it with all her might, sending out a high pitched squeal. Quickly, Rachel stuck her hand in her pocket, and brought out a bandage and a leaf.