Young Writers Society

Sometimes (working title) Chapter one

529 Reviews

Reviews: 529
Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:57 pm
View Likes
xDudettex says...

Spoiler! :
Okay. So I posted this in general fiction short stories under the title 'Harriet' for a contest, but I've edited it since then and I'm toying with the idea of writing more of it. I'd really like to know whether it sucks or not. It's my first attempt at writing a novel where romance is more than just a sub plot. I'm sorry if it's long :/ Thanks for reading!

I’ll never forget the first time I lay eyes on him. Partly because he was the hottest guy I’d ever seen; lip ring, chestnut hair, coffee coloured eyes. But also because somehow I managed to tip my glass of orange juice all over him. I mean, yeah, great first impression. I still blamed the way my heart was hammering through my chest like it was going to explode, though. And anyway, it was his fault for walking into the kitchen looking like the image of perfection while I was minding my own business making a drink. He shouldn’t have snuck up on me. Still, I’ll never forget the way my brain was shouting one thing…

“He’s ugly.”

No. I think I remember it being something along the lines of ‘Oh my God.’

“I mean really. People like him shouldn’t be allowed out in daylight.”

Cassie’s voice brought me out of my daydream and back to the reality which was the crowded college lunchroom. I peered up from my lunch of cheese and crackers, (I had a thing for cheese at the moment) to see a guy walking past our table wearing a black t-shirt and dark jeans. His hair was long, past his shoulders, and his skin was pale.

“I mean, I’m trying to eat.”

I finally turned my gaze to the girl sitting next to me. She was frowning and her nose was scrunched up, giving off the impression that she’d just smelt something horrid. She fixed her eyes on me and waited for my response.