z

Young Writers Society

Single Entries vs. Long Entries

Which do you prefer on YWS: Long Entries, or Short Entries?

Long Entries (with multiple chapters)
37%
Short Entries (with maybe three posts tops)
63%

Total votes : 19

369 Reviews

Reviews: 369
Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:57 am
Conrad Rice says...

Okay, before I start this, I will admit that I am a hypocrite. I have done long, multi entry stories on YWS (I'm in the middle of one, actually.) But I still think this needs to be brought up, so I'm doing it anyways.

It is my opinion that there are two many long entries on YWS. By this, I mean there are too many chapter 22s of multiple stories going up. I personally would like to see more single entries, more short stories that can be contained within about 2k to 3k words. Why? To put it simply, they're easier to review. As an Instructor, I need to go out and review things. It is hard to review when there are about ten chapter 22s and only one short story. I won't review in the middle of stories, btw, because that is ineffective. I've tried to do it before, and I always sound like a bumbling idiot who just got born. And no, I won't go back and read all the other chapters, because I do not have that kind of time.

But, enough about what I think. I want to know what you all think. Do you like long entries or short entries? Please reply to this thread. It is my hope that, with some discussion, we can bring back the shorter stories that are well loved by many.
Garrus Vakarian is my homeboy.

42 Reviews

Reviews: 42
Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Ducati says...

I would like it better if people split their chapters up into two parts. It's quite daunting to be faced with an entire chapter to fix up. Also the rate some people churn out work is incredible. I tried to keep up but they write faster than I can review. :lol:
When you look at your life, in a strange new room, maybe drowning soon, is this the start of it all?

1464 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1464