z

Young Writers Society

Can we reorganize the fiction section?

Should we add a General Fiction board to the top of the list?

Yes
33%
No
67%

Total votes : 3

9 Reviews

Reviews: 9
Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:56 am
leparapluie says...

I am a former TYWC writer, and I came here because I wanted to start writing again. At TYWC, there was only a single fiction section, and there were no classifications between genres. I preferred it like that.

I've found that the genre classifications here are a tad bit annoying. Most good literature is not pigeon-holed within a certain literary genre. Where would Catcher in the Rye go if a young J.D. Salinger hypothetically posted here? Dysfunctional-Teenage-Boy Lit? You could argue that it would fit in "Other Fiction," but that feels more like a board where more experimental pieces go. Even classifying novels like 1984 don't do them proper justice.

Seeing as YWS is a starting-point for young, developing writers, making a distinction between genres is a bit harmful and can lead to mediocre writing. I'm sure everybody's gone through the Romance section only to find an endless list of Twilight knockoffs. Separating fiction into these specific genres can lead a writer to write simply for that genre. It leads to stories that focus on plot much more than character development, style, et cetera. These stories turn into cliches that fit perfectly into the genre they were written for.

Therefore, I think the least YWS could do would be to add a "General Fiction" board to the top of the list of fiction. I know it goes in alphabetical order, but I'm sure something can be done to change that. I feel like it would be the best thing YWS could do to get rid of cliche stories. The other forums can be left up, but some should probably be eliminated or combined. Fantasy and Sci-Fi can be combined, and Historical Fiction could probably be eliminated. I'd suggest the stories be moved to another forum.