z

Young Writers Society

How on earth do you describe physical pain

672 Reviews

Reviews: 672
Tue Jul 24, 2007 6:58 am
Squall says...

Sup people. Onto the point:

There is this theme contest I want to enter and it is about physical pain. Now, being a peaceful person, I have little to no experience describing physical pain (or even use it in a short story).

Got any tips you can spare? :cry:
"To the edge of the universe and back. Endure and survive."

516 Reviews

Reviews: 516
Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:27 am
chocoholic says...

Hmm.... if you have any very violent friends you could see if they would hurt you so you can experience it. Somehow I don't imagine you're going to go for that idea. So... try just doing some imagining. Or ask someone that you know whp has gone through physical pain.

If you're already writing it, put in lots of screaming and crying (depending on the extermity of the pain).

Hope I helped.

192 Reviews

Reviews: 192
Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:28 am
Aet Lindling says...

"The pain seared through him, agonizing." (maybe too close to purple prose there though...)

or for less extreme:

"He felt pain as (insert something painful here)."

Pretty simple really.
dun worry
it's all gun be k

192 Reviews

Reviews: 192
Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:31 am
Aet Lindling says...

At first I thought this was a philosophical question, which I would like to pose now; how DO you describe the actual sensation in words? Difficult... and as soon as it's over you forget what it was like, except for the fact that it was displeasurable... weird. I had to pinch myself to remember what it felt like.

Disclaimer: I am not emo. :D
dun worry
it's all gun be k

280 Reviews

Reviews: 280
Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:31 pm
Sumi H. Inkblot says...

It depends on the pain. :?

There are several kinds of pain: throbbing, searing, stinging, sore, et cetera, so you want to tailor the pain to fit the context.