z

Young Writers Society

Why do YOU write?

137 Reviews

Reviews: 137
Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:47 am
DarkerSarah says...

I wasn't exactly sure if this should go in the lounge or randomness or whatever, so, if there's a mod who thinks it should go elsewhere, free feel to move it.

I was talking to a cousin who doesn't like to read or write and she asked me: "Why do you like to write?" I was honestly stumped for a second, thinking, "Well...because it's fun..." but then, I was like, wait...no it's not! Or, that's not why I do it, rather.

So...my conclusion as to why I write is this: I've got all these ideas bouncing around my head and in my heart and I have to get them out.

So why do YOU write?
"And I am a writer
writer of fiction
I am the heart that you call home
And I've written pages upon pages
Trying to rid you from my bones...
Let me go if you don't love me" ~The Decembrists "Engine Driver"

67 Reviews

Reviews: 67
Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:26 am
QiGuaiGongFu says...

because an idea comes to mind.
because the urge to dictate is only quenchable by the dictation
because writing literature is easier than studying it
because i can
because writing is an outlet
because its fun
because through the pen and paper (or modernly alternatively the keyboard and processor) is mightyer than the sword and sheild (or modernly alternatively the gun and armor)
because sculpting will only tell so much of a story
because i like writing meaningless things and watch people try to find meaning in them
because i like to go on and on, and writing is a way to ensure that at least the computer will listen
because i got a new pen
because it is an outlet for procrastination
because
For centuries, theologians have been explaining the unknowable in terms of the-not-worth-knowing.
- HL Mencken
Lie together like butt.
Presenting the GFuture, soon to be the Gnow, reality presented by Google.
Welcome to GEarth.
~Baske in the randomness~

Random avatar

Reviews: 681
Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:12 am