z

Young Writers Society

Falling Fail

115 Reviews

Reviews: 115
Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:49 pm
View Likes
LittlePrincess says...

I am one of those teenagers who is plagued with social awkwardness and I have been since Middle School, when it actually mattered.

This year I'm a junior, an upperclassman which makes me infinitely cooler than all the underclassman simply by being in eleventh grade. It's a new experience, being at the top of the food chain, since it feels like just yesterday I was a freshman.

In the beginning of my high school career, there was nothing I found more terrifying then the cafeteria at lunch time, especially when I had to enter it alone. The thing that scared me was that everyone was there and everyone was so unbelievably big. I learned quickly to avoid hungry senior boys and to grab my lunch and go. I adapted a lost look that said "please, don't bother me, pretend I'm not here" and used it to the best of my ability.

One morning, early in my junior year, I made my way in the cafeteria for lunchtime. As I pushed through the freshman, assuming my regular lost face, it occurred to me that this was not necessary. No longer was I at the bottom of the food chain, no longer was I unable to see over the sea of students, no longer was there anyone in this school for me to be afraid of.

I forced my way out of the mass of freshman and walked with purpose, I know my way around this school, I've been here for two years, I have no reason to feel lost. I didn't even wait in line to get my lunch, following in the footsteps of upperclassman before me. I grabbed my buffalo chicken wrap without even debating, I'd been here long enough to know what's good, and assumed my spot in line to pay.