z

Young Writers Society

I'm addicted to helping others.

33 Reviews

Reviews: 33
Sun Nov 21, 2010 1:24 am
Mickeystwin33 says...

It seems crazy doesn't it? That's because it is, but I only speak the the truth. I'm addicted to helping others. It seems great, like a wonderful thing, but that's to a person who has not been through it. My science teachers says my addiction is a gift, but to me it feels like a major problem.

I have been training myself for the past two years, to be able to hear a pencil drop as if it were a bomb. If one falls in class I must pick it up, even if it is five desks away, I must get up out of my seat to get it. It is like my high. Helping others makes me so happy.

It's becoming a problem now. I started helping others, because I thought it would end people bullying me, but now I'm scared if I don't stop their cruel words will arise again. I am terrified of what others think, though some say I'm a good person, I do not believe. They spent so many years telling me lies about myself, that it just became easier to believe then to deny. Everyone says I'm so smart, and I'm recognized a "Gifted," but what does that matter if my peers will not accept me.

Most probably still think of me as the little girl they teased on the playground, but am not that anymore. I am a shattered soul. Ripped piece by piece from their incessant teasing, and I used my addiction to try a piece it back together. I escaped one hardship, but have dug myself too deeply into my addiction, and can't find a ladder too climb out.

Maybe someday my world will change. Maybe I will lead them all. Maybe someday i will have the courage to show them all how much they have hurt me. But until then i must deal with my addiction and broken soul, alone.
I may not be the brightest crayon in the box. I might not be the prettiest, shiniest or favorite. I might not be anything to anyone, but yet I'm still in the box.