z

Young Writers Society

The Hunt (Part 1)

50 Reviews

Reviews: 50
Thu Sep 21, 2006 2:37 am
Roaming Shadow says...

This is my first attempt at a romance story. I haven't really read a romance story before (other than a peice or two on this site), but I just got the inspiration to try it. So, for those who know romance, be patient with me. I'd like to learn how to improve, so if I'm missing something important, let me know. This is part 1 of 4, at least that's the planned breakdown, which may change in the future. Thank you.

EDIT: Okay, I've made a few changes and a few minor additions. Hopefully, this will make this opener a bit clearer, or at least more believable and easier to understand.

The night was clear, the moon was nearly full, and the forest was all but silent. The hunters of the night roamed freely, searching for their quarry in a never ending hunt. Hunger drove them. It drove much of their life, and there was rarely a moment when that hunger abated.

For one of the forest’s hunters, there were two hunts, each with an overpowering drive. One was the hunt for food. That hunt he always succeeded in, only to start it again when the hunger returned to his belly. The other was a hunt that had lasted for as long as his memory would care. A hunt possibly more ravenous than the hunt for food. His search for a mate.

Nearly every night he searched the forest. He had searched the forest in its entirety. But still he searched. Wolves occasionally roamed alone, most often to start a new pack. He too wanted to roam farther, but something told him not to. Something in the very depths of his mind told him not to stray far from his territory. Though he did not understand why, he knew that it was wise.