z

Young Writers Society

Freeing A Caged Bird (A Naruto Fan-Fic)- Chapter Three

Reviews: 4
Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:59 am
Kei says...

So here's Chapter Three, as promised. Action scenes, as I've found out, are rather challenging to write... Bear with me on the length. I tend to go overboard. Haha. Also, it would be appreciated if someone told me if the characters are "acting themselves" or not. I'm relatively new to the Naruto fandom and it would definitely help if I knew.

Hinata already stood at her front door waiting for us, in her fresh training clothes. I slowed my pace down as soon as I caught sight of her; I didn't want to seem too excited.

“Good morning, Kei and Kiba,” she greeted us as we approached, her soft voice seeming to be full of anticipation. “How are you this morning?”

“Good,” the two of us answered in unison. “How are you?”

Hinata paused for a few moments, her child-like face thoughtful. “N...nervous.”

“Well, come on, then,” I told her, putting a hand on her shoulder and softly guiding her to the front. “Take us there and we'll talk about it.”

Hinata led the way, setting her usual slow pace; I found it hard not to walk ahead. Her neighbours, already awake and puttering around on their front lawns, stopped momentarily and stared at us curiously; I guessed they weren't used to having visitors.

“Why are you nervous?” questioned Kiba, his voice full of genuine concern. “You shouldn't be. He's your cousin.”

Hinata's brow creased, and she sighed as we ambled along beside her, down the road. “I don't know,” she said, her voice full of needless anxiety. “He's just so... I don't know. He dislikes me because I'm from the main branch of the family and he's from a lesser branch.”

I frowned. “That's it?”

The girl looked unsure of herself, but finally managed to stutter, “Yes.”