Young Writers Society

Why So Serious?

558 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 558
Sun Aug 03, 2008 3:39 pm
Matt Bellamy says...

:)
I drew this today using pastels. I was going to go over his face with white pastels, but it came out grey, which was a shame because I thought it would look good, kind of grab the texture of his make up. The mouth was really hard to draw and didn't come out quite right, I know, but I'm relatively pleased with it anyway. What do you think?
Matt.

Got Tumblr? Me too! http://www.writersam.co.uk

Peeking Cat Poetry Magazine is accepting submissions! http://peekingcatpoetrymagazine.blogspot.co.uk

Random avatar

Reviews: 115
Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:06 pm
andimlovegalore says...

I can't really critique because I'm not an artist at all really... but Joker <3 hurray!

758 Reviews

Reviews: 758
Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:11 pm
Cade says...

I think he looks too happy...like, legitimately happy, not creepy-happy like the Joker should. I think the makeup could be a little more bold, a little more messy, like it is in the movie. Same with the hair...it just looks like you drew some quick squiggles, whereas the hair ought to be more "artfully" messy, and look a little dirtier. Also, his body looks way too large, and one shoulder appears to be much higher than the other, but I like the detail of the outfit.

-Colleen
"My pet, I've been to the devil, and he's a very dull fellow. I won't go there again, even for you..."

402 Reviews

Reviews: 402
Sun Aug 03, 2008 8:30 pm
Clo says...

Did you use watercolor pencils? It looks like it.

I like everything from the neck down. His jacket looks cool and all that. The colors look very nice too. Except then his face looks very happy happy, kosher happy. Not demented happy. Bake cookies happy. Besides it being the smile, perhaps it's because he's looking away? Maybe if he was glaring at us with that smile it would be a little more twisted, Joker-y looking.
How am I not myself?

Random avatar

Reviews: 41
Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:34 am