z

Young Writers Society

My First NaNoWriMo

86 Reviews

Reviews: 86
Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:25 pm
Tabithalillian says...

Hey every one! This is my first time participating in national novel writing month. And I am super stoked. I just have a few questions and concerns that people can comfort me about. First off the story can be totally awful as long as it is at least 50000 words right? And when we are writing it do we have to edit it or can we just let the words come out like we hear in ours heads the first time around then edit next month? And any tips on keeping your plot exciting to you as an author so I dont run out of steam on November fifteenth and totally give up? Thanks every one and I have my first section of my novel posted on my account here if any one wants to check it out.
-Tabitha
Living in a tower

1176 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1176
Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:08 pm
Twit says...

1. Yep.
2. Do not edit. Heck, no.
3. Good question. I wish I knew the answer. Lol. I don't know. Just make sure you love your characters; you'll discover loads more things about them when you let them loose without a leash.
"TV makes sense. It has logic, structure, rules, and likeable leading men. In life, we have this."

#TNT

365 Reviews

Reviews: 365
Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:20 am
Antigone Cadmus says...

Well, this is my first NaNoWriMo too! So I can't exactly speak from experience. But as for running out of steam, I have found it helpful to write in mass amounts. Write when you have an idea or when you really want to. Don't force yourself. On the first day of NaNo when I was super excited, I wrote several thousand words. When you write in mass amounts only when you are excited to do so, you'll increase your word count without running out of steam.
Odi et amo. quare id faciam, fortasse requiris?
nescio, sed fieri sentio et excrucior.
-Catullus, Carmen 85

134 Reviews

Reviews: 134
Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:18 am
Hippie says...