z

Young Writers Society

Search for Seclusion (Temporary Title)

62 Reviews

Reviews: 62
Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:40 am
View Likes
Izzyeyore says...

Note-- this is my first try at writing fiction in over 5 years, so please comment! Your comments will determine as to whether or not there will be a part 2...

The stuff in bold is what I have changed based on comments

The sky was tempestuous, the night was stormy, my vision had finally cleared . Whatever it was, however you want to phrase it, the same thing happened. I decided to leave my life forever, taking nothing with me. Why, you may ask, does the sky’s haziness pertain to anything I may want to tell you? To confess to you? Well, it's gray, wild, with the wind and rain lashing viciously at my windows, I felt oppressed, depressed, and restless. The roiling deep purple of the sky reflected my innermost emotions as I stared into its depths, trying to understand myself. Sadly, as of yet, no one has invented Doppler radar for the soul.

I don’t know what type of scheme this was, what type of harebrained idea or genre of madness, but all of a sudden I had an overwhelming urge to run. Leave. Disappear. Most of the time, when someone says this people typically react something like this “Hm.. and St. Jojo’s Mental institution is now officially full”, or, “I always thought he was a paranoid nutter,” or even “Wow, attention-seeking much?”. The only thing about me, though, is that I’m a normal person. I conform to every stereotype and I fulfill every demand and request ever posed or inflicted on me. I will probably grow up to be the typical housewife, attending my Thursday book club meetings and driving my 2 children to soccer practice every afternoon. How sweet, they all say, she has the perfect life, she’ll grow up to do great things. What if they could see me now? Packing my duffel bag and preparing to leave all I knew and had ever known behind. Whatever would they think now?