z

Young Writers Society

Chance Encounter

1125 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1125
Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:30 pm
StellaThomas says...

If you hate it, fine. I'm not so sure I like the style. Maybe it's too personal. The only people who have read it are me and my best friend who understood. Written ages ago... I was hopelessly in love with a guy in my year. No longer. But this was floating around my room and I thought I'd type it up... So here goes. Crit accepted, and if you just want to say you don't like it that's fine too...

Imagine this. Me, aged twenty four, ten years from now. A blustery evening in Mid-May, in Paris. I’m going back to my bed-sit on the Right Bank, finishing work in a little café in Montmartre. I’m studying English literature through French, I’m hoping to teach it here.

I’m heading down the Champs D’Elysées, to the Charles de Galle Metro station. I don’t have to switch here, but I love the centre of the city, and watching the change. Already as summer rolls in, the Japanese tourists are snap-shotting the Arc de Triomphe.

I’m walking slowly, watching. Do you know how many people will bump into their soulmate in Paris everyday? Most, of course, are Parisian. Yet perhaps there’s hope for this language adoring Dubliner girl.

So I watch. It would be typical of me to bump into the love of my life along here and not know it. I’m looking at faces, eyes. After all, don’t they say eyes are windows to the soul? Grey meets green, like storm clouds let grass grow, hazel hits blue like trees strive to reach the sky. That’s why I look. Here a little old lady carrying her groceries, here a business man shouting down his super-slim chrome mobile phone. They all have lives. This one is planning to propose to his girlfriend tonight, this one was tragically widowed a few months ago. Their heads are as full as mine.