z

Young Writers Society

Tender Talon Editiong Services

440 Reviews

Reviews: 440
Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:08 am
gyrfalcon says...

Hello all! Well, here I am, gyrfalcon, willing to trade my amazing editorial services for just a scrap of cake. ;) To be honest, I’m a picky editor, and I may not be right for everyone, so please read the following and decide if you’d like to place the sweat of your brow and child of your imagination in my tender claws.

Some things I’m good at:
Characters (this would probably be my greatest strength)
Word choice/avoiding awkward wording
Sentence and paragraph structure and content
Spotting redundancy and/or lack of information
Grammar
Killing clichés
Dialogue
Overall Flow (this encompasses everything from a sentence to a chapter to—if I really like your work—the whole story)
There are probably some other’s that I’m fairly okay at, but that’s what springs to mind.

Here are a couple examples of my typical critiques:

Scavenger by TL G-Wooster (this is my normal fiction style of critiquing—this one happens to be a fantasy story; I’m on both pages, by the way)
http://www.youngwriterssociety.com/post ... opic&f=188

Dear Mr. Publisher by Eimear (a rare example of my poetry-critiquing)
http://www.youngwriterssociety.com/post ... ht=#370968

Repercussions by JFW1415 (again, a typical fiction crit, but of realistic fiction rather than fantasy)
http://www.youngwriterssociety.com/post ... ht=#361351

Now, here’s what I like critiquing:
Fantasy
Sci/Fi
Historical Fiction
Action/Adventure
Other Fiction
Some poetry (but this is not my strong suit—I’m fairly good at “traditional” stuff that rhymes and doesn’t try to be all metaphysical, but if you give me something “modern,” I’ll probably just smile and nod)
Any rating, except please don't give me anything with graphic sex scenes.

What I don’t like:
Lyrics
Most poetry
Romance (that is, graphic sex scenes--I don't mind it sooo much otherwise)