z

Young Writers Society

Creative Writing Class

99 Reviews

Reviews: 99
Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:50 pm
Monki says...

So, I am a sophomore in high school and I decided to take a Creative Writing class, ya' know, because I love writing. :)

My problem is, it was never mentioned to me until I was actually enrolled in the class that we actually have to SHARE our writing with the class on a frequent basis. I cannot do that.

I took a Creative Writing class when I was in middle school and everything was strictly confidential. We didn't even have to let the teacher see it if we didn't want to. But in this class, it's not an option. I'm extremely introverted and can hardly stand to be called on in class to recite a simple answer.

Any suggestions as to what I should do or tips to make myself less nervous?
Tom Riddle: "You read my diary?"
Harry Potter: "At first, I did not know it was your diary. I thought it was a very sad, handwritten book."

Random avatar

Reviews: 110
Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:20 pm
Karsten says...

What specifically do you need tips on?

Writing material that you don't mind sharing with the class ...

(1) Redraft, polish and spellcheck. If you hand out first drafts, you're going to get a rougher ride than late drafts would.

(2) Get it critiqued elsewhere first. That way getting criticism of the piece is not a shock to the system, and you feel more in control of the critique you receive.

(3) Look out for repeated problems being criticised in your class. If pieces are being continually pulled up on grammar, for example, that probably means you have a sharp-eyed grammar nazi in your class, and you need to make doubly sure that your grammar is solid before you submit.

Reading your work out loud ...

(1) Choose a short, active section with good imagery.

(2) Keep it to only 2-3 minutes. Longer than that and people may glaze over.

(3) Practise in front of the mirror.

(4) Try to speak slowly.

(5) A monotone is death. Vary your tone.