z

Young Writers Society

Is it weird that....

41 Reviews

Reviews: 41
Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:44 pm
silverSUNLIGHTx says...

I don't want anyone to know that I'm a writer? I try to hide it from everyone else, I don't let anyone read what I wrote, and when my family mentions it to anyone else I get embarrassed. When people ask me what I want to be, I just say "Oh, I don't know" when I'm screaming "AUTHOR" in my head. I don't really even tell my friends. Is this weird? Why do I do it?
--->Don't forget we've got unfinished business. Stories yet to unfold, tales that must be retold.
-Alex Gaskarth

1162 Reviews

Reviews: 1162
Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:27 pm
Carlito says...

I don't want anyone to know either. :)
I think the main thing for me is I don't want anyone to read my stuff. Which is funny because I let tons of strangers (here) read it :) I tell everyone I want to be a psychologist (cause I do) but I don't mention that I want to minor in English and publish books too :)

-Carly
It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.

Ask a Therapist!
I want to beta read your novel!

Ask me anything. Talk to me about anything. Seriously. My PM box is always open <3

115 Reviews

Reviews: 115
Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:03 pm
mhmmcolleenx0 says...

I don't think that's very weird. The only people that I tell are my close friends, and family. At first, I only told my family because they wondered what I was typing when I was on the computer. Like tmne, I want to be a psychologist. and that's usually what I tell people. So, it's not weird to me.
"Can't stop, won't stop. I must be dreaming."

410 Reviews

Reviews: 410
Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:51 pm
Alainna says...

It's not at all strange. I never told any of my friends until a couple of years ago and only my mother really knows that I write as she sees me typing away or scribbling down ideas. It was only a few months ago that I showed my boyfriend any of my work and I'm not even sure why I don't like to show people other than fellow YWS-ers.