z

Young Writers Society

Discouraged

Reviews: 3
Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:44 pm
seyonne says...

So, as some of you know I'm a published author. That doesn't necessarily mean I'm good, and I'm starting to doubt myself. My book isn't selling well that I know of, for starters, besides people I know or my dad works with buying it.....and I've gotten one 'lukewarm' review, and one scathingly, rippingly, tear you a new a-hole horrifyingly BAD review.

I want to- and am going to- keep writing and besides, I have a two year contract with Dreamspinner. They're an itty-bitty alternate publishing company and I'm starting to think they only took my book 'cause I put in gay characters, and never thought my book was good at all.

I won't lie; I never thought the book was my best work to start with. But now I'm downright scared to send anything else out for potential publication. I'm afraid my publisher will laugh in my face.

I mean, apparently, I suck. I don't like to think that way and normally I don't, but the lack of success is enough to make anyone start feeling self-conscious. I don't even think my friends really like it. I'm going to demand an honest opinion and I'm terrified of what it'll be. >.<

Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:21 pm
seyonne says...

thanks for the support, guys. -_- lol

1176 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 1176
Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:30 pm
Twit says...

Gee, give people a chance to take a breath.

Maybe next time you should use an agent instead of signing contracts? Then your agent will tell you how to improve and all. I think. And anyway, just because people don't buy doesn't necessarily mean that you're bad. Catherine Webb is one of the best authors I've read, but I've yet to meet one person in the flesh who's read her books.
"TV makes sense. It has logic, structure, rules, and likeable leading men. In life, we have this."

#TNT

Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:56 pm
seyonne says...