z

Young Writers Society

I finally met him!

365 Reviews

Reviews: 365
Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:03 am
Fishr says...

Well, obviously my grandfather's been long deceased but this find in my family tree was too great to post in my blog. Besides, Wiggy said she wanted to meet him. ;)

Firstly, I've been researching and looking for my ancestor for nearly six months, mainly tracking down his regiment, which isn't an easy task when you've served almost a hundred years ago! That being said, yes, my ancestor is a Veteran of the Civil War - a Sergeant.

Erected by his wife, since he died first, it says:

William C. (Coit) Landon
Sergt Co. C 2 N.Y. Vols.
Served 4 Yrs in Civil War
>>>>>1837 - 1915

Rose Jacobs
>>His Wife
1847 - 1927

Bertha Landon
>>1877 - 1898

Bill Landon had four children, which I have pictures of all, except one, who was laid to rest near my grandmother. It has my dad and I baffled too; one of those family mysteries because Philip, Rose, Bill, and Lena all have stones, except Bertha, yet there's a space for her marker. And Edward, the other son? He's not near his family but in another town and and another spot - yeah people are weird and my family is no exception, LOL!

Bill's wife was known as "Barefoot" Rose and she partook in Oppium (sp). So, I had a druggie early on, and Bill himself? It seems he was quite the storyteller, who enjoyed telling tales of Gettysburg and his injury to the eye. In the war, a musket ball hit his eye, and Bill fell like a brick. It's recorded in my family that my ancestor heard the words, "Well, Landon's dead", from another soldier standing next to him. Also, it's a known fact, proven finally by my family that Bill Landon was standing in the middle of two future Presidents. (I always forget who because I just learned about it a few days ago - poor memory. I want to say McKinley and Garfield but I'm not sure it's them).