z

Young Writers Society

Posting stories online.

Reviews: 0
Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:55 am
A Flawed Paradise says...

I have a concern much like Kizzi's, a few topics down. It being that I first began unleashing my novel ideas in the form of role-plays in various popular websites. For those who don't know, role-playing is when someone comes up with a story, other members of the site create characters for the given setting, and then they write in their character's point of view, interacting with one another until the story is finished, one post at a time. Now, I'm still new to the idea of actually publishing any of my novel ideas and I'm clueless about rights and the such, but I would like to know if I would have any problem publishing any story that I had already shared in the form of an role-play. In other words, let's say I had an idea for a story, I shared it with other people, we talked about, they and I created characters for it and, after a while, between all of us the story is completed. Then, months later I rewrote the entire story, using my own words, and alterling many aspects of the original story to my liking, would they still have claim over the new novel?

I do hope I make my question clear. Thanks in advance!

-Flaw
Our world is a flawed paradise, filled with flawed perfection, and created by a flawed, omniscient creator. So what chance do we have of creating flawless art?

497 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 497
Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:02 am
Teague says...

Role-plays really don't have a copyright, do they?

I think you'd be okay. And, you sounds as if you rewrote nearly every aspect of the story on your own, making it yours. So... no, I don't think you'd have any problem with it.

-:pirate3:
"2-4-6-8! I like to delegate!" -Meshugenah
"Teague: Stomping on your dreams since 1992." -Sachiko
"So I'm looking at FLT and am reminded of a sandwich." -Jabber

210 Reviews

Reviews: 210
Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:44 am
Meep says...