z

Young Writers Society

Sci-Fi Help

6 Reviews

Reviews: 6
Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:30 pm
mindoverflow812 says...

I'm new to writing Sci-Fi, I usually write historical fiction. So, I have no idea where to start. All of my ideas seem hopelessly cliche. Please help!
-mindoverflow812

820 Reviews

Reviews: 820
Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:39 pm
View Likes
Myth says...

Try reading science fiction! Research always helps whatever genre you prefer, you wouldn't write historical fiction without knowing a little [or a lot] about the era your work is set in.

Have a think about what sci-fi is to you, doesn't always have to be aliens and malfunctioning robots or evil lords blowing up planets. That's all I can say for now. Good luck!
.: ₪ :.

'...'

73 Reviews

Reviews: 73
Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:00 pm
deleted1 says...

Sci fi is what you make of it. Usually its easiest to get started in this work by doing fanfiction and then moving on to your own works. However if you want to take the direct route here's a few tips.

What time period?
What kinds of technology are mainstream and how does it influence people?
How do people interact and what social differences exist from modern times?
What do they eat and listen to? How do they do work?
Is everything a golden age or rather one of decay?

Figure out what its like to LIVE there and then use your ideas to shape the story. :)

214 Reviews

Reviews: 214
Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:23 am
Prosithion says...

buy an anthology or two of science fiction stories, and usually they are diverse enough that it'll give you an idea of what sci-fi writing entails. Read some Isaac Asimov books and stories. They are perhaps the best science fiction.

Good luck,
Pros
"wub wub wub wub. Now Zoidberg is the popular one."

"Computer... Captain's musk"

45 Reviews

Reviews: 45
Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:37 pm
Extraterrestial says...