z

Young Writers Society

Sword Fights

516 Reviews

Reviews: 516
Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:37 am
chocoholic says...

In my current piece I have a sword fight. I'm new to writing physical fights and fantasy. Does anybody have any tips about how to write a sword fight without it sounding, well, stupid?
*Don't expect to see me around much in the next couple of weeks. School has started again, and it'll be a couple of weeks before I've settled in. If you've asked me for a critique, you will get it, but not for a little while. Sorry*

531 Reviews

Reviews: 531
Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:30 am
Caligula's Launderette says...

Is it a staged fight or match? Or is it a fight to the death sort of thing? Or fight to the first injury?

I am amidst writing a dueling bout in one of my novels right now, and the best tips I have for you are to know your characters [strengths and weaknesses], know the weapons they are using [or rather is it open hand combat], and know how said characters would react or act in a fight, would they grapple, doing something underhanded, are they trained, do they know anything about how to fight... For example, I character I once worked with was a wuss when it came to swords, she was given one once and proceeded to drop it and run away screaming.

Oh, and read everything you can get your hands on about the kind of fight you are writing. Even novels with sword fights in them to get a handle on the kind of scene you will be writing.

Hope this helps,
Cal.
Fraser: Stop stealing the blanket.
[Diefenbaker whines]
Fraser: You're an Arctic Wolf, for God's sake.
(Due South)

Hatter: Do I need a reason to help a pretty girl in a very wet dress? (Alice)

Got YWS?

657 Reviews

Reviews: 657
Fri Sep 28, 2007 4:45 pm
Jennafina says...

Hello!

I'm in the exact same situation. I did a lot of research (and got a free swordfighting lesson at a fair,) and here's some of what I found out.