z

Young Writers Society

Three Things I Know About Writing

493 Reviews

Reviews: 493
Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:32 pm
Misty says...

I'm now an official instructor, and as such ought to be posting instructorly whatsits, instead of coloring in red and green markers on my (pages and pages) of book edits that my agent sent to me at 5:35 yesterday evening.

It's now 6AM.

I think that writers secretly love driving themselves crazy over these things. Tiny plot tweaks, switching a "the" from the beginning of the sentence to the middle, reworking a phrase.

Editing is undoubtably one of the hardest parts of writing.

But we're never going to have anything to edit if we don't get along and write it! So here's everything I know about writing (condensed, in the 5 minute version).

1).
"If you want to preach, get a soapbox, stand in the park, and see how much luck you have." Stephen King

Probably my favorite writing quote of all time. Writing isn't about pushing your own agenda. Whether that agenda is homosexuality, the plight of the mentally challenged, why Sam I Am likes Green Eggs and Ham, whatever. I don't care how touchy a subject or how much you believe in it, your writing should be a pure reflection of the characters' thoughts, feelings. You have to work to keep it authentic.

This isn't easy. I'm a borderline blatant feminist, and in the novel that's publishing (The Titleless Wonder, as we fondly refer to it at the agency), sexism is a big issue. Nearly all the characters are sexist in one way or another, and there is no real resolution to it.

Does it grate on me? Sure. But I'm not here to shove my religion, beliefs, down anybody else's throats. I'm here to tell a story, to tell it nicely, and to make it sound pretty and give you lots of emotion to sift through.

2). Have a reason. So Taryn goes on a journey across the entire expanse of the world with a mentor who teaches him the Ways of his Kind and he battles the Evil Shmieval and learns to become who he is.