z

Young Writers Society

Diaries/Journals/Notebooks

172 Reviews

Reviews: 172
Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:07 am
Lynlyn says...

As a writer, I get a lot of advice about keeping a notebook. I never really believed it at first because I was never really the diary type. My family always bought me those little ones with a space for every day where you're meant to fill in where you go and what you do and who you see. I eventually came to the conclusion that I was just bad at keeping a notebook. I never wanted to write that kind of thing down, regardless of the fact that I knew I would probably forget everything the next day.

Eventually I realized that such a diary isn't really a productive thing to keep. If you're forcing yourself to write down mundane details of your life, it's not going to help you grow as much as if you write down the things that interest you. I read an interesting piece by Joan Didion about keeping a notebook that sort of changed the way that I looked at things. Now, instead of attempting to keep track of my life and my travels, I just write down little snippets of things - the color of an old woman's hat, something crude that a man said on a subway, or the color of my friend's eyes when he laughs. Don't get me wrong, I use it for starting off my prose and poetry too, but its main use is just to get things down on paper - the things that I would otherwise lose.

I think that it helped me a lot to let go and stop feeling guilty for not writing everything down. Does anyone else keep a journal or notebook with them? How does it help/harm your work?
"Better keep yourself clean and bright; you are the window through which you must see the world." - G. B. Shaw
Lynlyn's Magical Critique Emporium - request a review here.

1258 Reviews

Reviews: 1258
Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:23 am
Sam says...