z

Young Writers Society

Hi from New Zealand

Random avatar

Reviews: 3
Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:41 am
baby.fratelli says...

Hey I am Anna, I am 19 and live in the capital city Wellington, New Zealand.

I just had a flashback to when I was a member here when I was alot younger - and I was a terrible writer back then. I think I just came on here to contribute to the add on stories. The site has changed heaps since I last visited. Back then the word "iriscable" was the word of the week for years. Actually I may have the wrong site in mind, but I think it was this one...

Anywho, I am in my second year of a degree in English Literature, Theatre and Creative Writing and loving it. The writing workshops are a lot of work, and it's limited entry so it's just eleven of us sitting round giving feedback on each others stories and assignments. Last term was writing short fiction and this term is writing for children so that will be new to me.

I am an active member on another writing site and I critique thoroughly and often so hopefully I'll like this one too.

I mainly write short stories, but a novel is something I am interested in trying one day, and I have written a couple of poems and am trying my hand at scripting.

My favourite books are The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen, The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst and Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl.

Ahh I like British comedy, The Goonies, old DOS games like Commander Keen and indie/indie rock music ... although indie is such a general term that covers everything under the sun that isn't mainstream ... although I don't have a problem with mainstream either. Also love stuff like The Beatles and The Beach Boys.

I'm rambling.

Say hi :]

267 Reviews

Reviews: 267
Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:03 am
Boni_Bee says...

Hi Anna! Welcome back to YWS! Sounds like you're studying a great subject at uni! I look forward to seeing some of your work.

47 Reviews

Reviews: 47
Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:28 pm
Shauni says...

O.O