z

Young Writers Society

Introducing myself

Reviews: 0
Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:18 pm
forces_09 says...

Hello, I'm a 24 year old writer from Canada, I have written many short stories and am right now working on my first novel.
I write mainly in the science fiction and fantasy categories and my current work is a mixture of both.
I find classical and slow moody music helps me write and I am currently listening to a good deal of husky male singers accompanied by a simple guitar melody.
My novel is aimed mainly at the late teen age group and is flowing quite nicely at the moment but I know I will get stuck at some point and so I decided to join a community of writers for help and support.
My current work is projected at about 300 pages, and having started yesterday I am currently only on page 20, with one complete rewrite already under my belt. The work can best be described as a supernatural thriller and love story.

My main technical writing issue is my tendency to use long run on sentences.

Thank you :)

And despite how wooden my writing seems in this introduction, I've been told my fiction is not nearly so dead, I'm merely better at expressing fiction then I am at expressing anything real about myself.
Which of course doesn't mean I lie, it simply means I'm very, very, shy, and that I feel far more comfortable expressing emotion in my writing then in reality, a flaw which I recognize quite clearly. :)

68 Reviews

Reviews: 68
Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:03 pm
sofi says...

Hello :D Welcome to the site.

You've definatly come to the right place for help and support, you'll get loads of constructive criticism and advice.

There's a group for users writing novels called 'The Novelists' which is probably a good group for you to join :D

Do you have a favourite novel? Or author?