z

Young Writers Society

Patterns (chapter one)

Reviews: 1
Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:55 pm
TheSilverLining says...

Spoiler! :
Hi guys! I'm new to YWS and this is my first post. I love YWS so far - but I'm only ten, so please don't be too harsh! :D

Kathren switched off the TV and laid down the remote. She slumped back on the sofa and rubbed her eyes sleepily. Just two more days, just two, until her birthday! She closed her eyes and decided she would sleep here tonight: she couldn't be bothered going upstairs to her own bedroom.
It was only moments before she fell asleep.
In what seemed like hardly a minute, Kathren was shaken into wakefulness.
"Kath! Kathren! Hell-o-oo!"
"What is it?" muttered Kathren drowsily.
"Open your eyes, turn to face me, and I'll tell you."
Kathren turned reluctantly onto her side.
"What is it?" she repeated, sitting up.
"You've got the memory of a goldfish, haven't you?"
"Speak for yourself."
Her brother ignored her. "As you obviously need reminding, Mum asked us - "
" - you mean commanded us - "
" - to drop off her pattern art at Art Haven, or whatever it's called," continued her brother, ignoring her once again.
"Fine," grumbled Kathren.
Her brother left the room, calling back over his shoulder as he went, "You've got ten minutes to get changed before we leave!"

Kathren walked upstairs into her room and looked into the mirror. Her reflection stared back at her. She was a short girl for twelve, and quite skinny. She had short, straight brown hair with a side fringe and wore rectangular glasses, which were red. Looking away, she pulled on a fluorescent yellow T-shirt and some faded, dark-green shorts.
"Hurry up!" shouted her brother's voice up the stairs.
Kathren grabbed a sweatshirt from an open drawer, shouted to her brother, "Coming, Jordan!" and rushed downstairs.