z

Young Writers Society

No Name

Random avatar

Reviews: 275
Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:14 pm
Calligraphy says...

~So this is a poem I had to write for school. Can you tell what it is about? Please help me! You know what I hate? Having to be inspired at 9:00 every morning.~

The wind is strong
The ground is dry
The prices are low
The bills are high

Trees on the fence
Tractor‘s broke down
My babies are hungry;
No one‘s hiring in town

There‘s nothing to do
We’ve cut off our own hand
There‘s no way to feed ‘em
Not off my own land

If only for them
I’ll find a way
I will persevere
Hunger won’t stay

I’m gone all day
Looking for work
I have to travel far
But, somewhere it must lurk

I just want to
See my baby
So don’t try to stop me
Don’t try to save me

I won’t stop working
Until they are fed
They want me to stop
But, I won’t.

Thanks,

A. S>

59 Reviews

Reviews: 59
Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:57 pm
Reuben A says...

Alo again. I'm kind of new to reviewing poetry, so don't take what I say toooo seriously... :)

There‘s nothing to do

hands

If only for them
I’ll find a way
I will persevere
Hunger won’t stay

Here's the only part I didn't quite get... the "Hunger won't stay" part is said with too much conviction...add something in there like "hunger won't dare stay", or something that makes it sound as if she's doubting, or trying to convince herself. All and all I'm not crazy about the poem, I'm not too sure why though... its well written and everything. Keep writing!!
So stadig loop ons deur die pers Jakarandas wat val,die bome word kaal Pa staar na die beeld van Botha wat reis op sy perd,Hy wonder was bloed soveel werd.Soveel jare dra hy aan die naam van 'n plek,Soveel jare moet ons nou laat gaan,Is die naam dan so erg,so bitter en sleg?Hoekom gooi jul dit weg?

Random avatar

Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:04 pm
Calligraphy says...