z

Young Writers Society

Crafting the Amulet (Chapters 1-3)

6 Reviews

Reviews: 6
Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:12 am
RekatsRovert says...

Author's note: Since I'm still a newbie, I'm trying to understand how stuff goes on here. From what I've seen so far, people post a new thread for each new chapter, or two chapters. Is that correct?
Anyhow, go ahead and tell me what you think of this short story I wrote a short time ago. The first chapter will make this seem really out of place for the fantasy category, which is why I was compelled to include the second chapter. That's when things get better. Promise. :)

The air outside was still cool from winter, the snow was all gone for good, trees and things were starting to get green buds, Bush was the president after a very tiresome battle with some other gray haired guy named Kerry, and my math teacher Mrs. Scouressel was pure evil.

It wasn’t enough that I didn’t get fractions, just as we were learning to turn them into decimals—decimals were easier than fractions, cause decimals were just like money—but she had to give out homework every day. Not even my Language Arts teacher, Mr. Wagner, gave out homework over the weekends, and all my classmates agreed he was the worst of all the fifth grade teachers. But kids have strange ways of judgment. Not to mention Mrs. Scouressel gave you candy if you got a hundred on a test, but it was just a mini Snickers or Three Musketeers. Come on, lady, you could at least step up to a fun size! It was math, after all!

My name’s Derrick. And it had to be Derrick J when the teachers called on me, because there’s another kid in my class named Derrick, but his middle name starts with an M, but I don’t know what it is. Mine’s Joseph, and that’s what they call me nowadays; nope, no one calls me Derrick anymore, with or without a J, and I’m gonna tell you why.