z

Young Writers Society

Lightning Platoon 106 prologue

123 Reviews

Reviews: 123
Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:06 pm
Lord Anzius says...

This is my first time writing SciFi so crushing reviews are wanted. Thank you in advance :D

Lightning Platoon 106

Suur-Karjala, Finland

It was yet another peaceful autumn day, the leaves were dropping of the trees and had changed color. Birds flew over an old house whizzing past clouds and tree tops -they were flying off to south for the winter in flocks. Jari Merinen was sitting on the porch of his house, on an old wooden chair. The porch was painted clear sky blue, as was the chair, though one could argue that clearness was not one of their attributes. Jari’s house was old, built even before the new millennia. It was almost as old as Jari himself, built of wood and stone. The roof was unlike those in the houses built these days, it wasn't flat. The house gave a nice homelike feeling, or that is what Jari always told people, or that is what he would have told people if some ever visited him. So he had decided.
His house was built far away from the actual city of Karjala, people scarcely came this far into the "wilderness" -as they called it- these days. Gone were the days when work was done simply by man and not by some abdominal machine.
Jari shook his head.
He sipped his beer and wondered about life. He was at ease resting his old bones on the cushions. He had decided to keep a day off work and rest at home.
Jari took a better position to sleep on the chair and smiled as the alcohol started slowing down his stray of thoughts.
There was a loud hissing sound, and Jari woke up from his half sleep. He looked up at the sky; he couldn’t see properly and fumbled for his glasses.
He finally found them from the metallic table behind him, swiftly he snatched them from it and placed them on.
There was a small black object plummeting down from the sky not too far from where Jari was. His eyes widened as he understood what he saw.