z

Young Writers Society

Dawn

19 Reviews

Reviews: 19
Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:13 pm
Autumn says...

Hi guys! well this is my first time posting a story on this account, had to make a new one since I can't get into my old account (phoenix) :[ I don't know if any of you read my story 'Shadow of paradise' but this is basically a development upon that since I changed the story line quite a bit. I'm not sure if I'll go onto develop this into a full novel since I'm still figuring some stuff out with it but I felt like writing so I thought I'd have a stab at writing the prologue.

Comments and crit appreciated! x

---------------------------------------------------

Pain surged through my body like an angry bolt of lightning. It twisted through my veins and choked my senses as I struggled desperately to breathe.

‘Please! Just leave me alone!’ I tried to scream, but my words came out in a scrambled mess of whispers. I thrashed my body from side to side, scratching bloody rivers all along my arms and legs as they cut against the gravely ground.

My eyes were blurred with streaming tears and sealed with fright. At least in the darkness, I didn’t have to see them. But their cruel laughter splintered through my heart like a jagged knife and made the pain even more unbearable. Amidst the howling cackles and my thundering heartbeat they uttered words of malevolence. Words that made me want to curl into a ball and get smaller and smaller until I just crumbled away into nothing.

‘You’re a freak, nature girl!’ they spat, ‘You don’t belong here, and you never will.’

‘Don’t kid yourself that you could ever be a magician, you’re just a freak!’

The fact that I knew they spoke the truth was what made it even harder to bear.