z

Young Writers Society

She was known for her disappearances

Random avatar

Reviews: 0
Tue May 10, 2011 6:45 pm
danceallnight says...

The beginning of a novel or short story, haven't decided yet. Any feedback is appreciated. :D

She was known for her disappearances. I think it was the rush of uncertainty about whether or not anyone would actually look for her that made her do it. But it was always that same curiosity that brought her back. But this time was different. This time she never came back. I shouldn’t have even cared, considering the fact that I had only had one legitimate conversation with her in my whole life. It was the summer before I was a high school freshman. She lived in my neighborhood, in a picturesque house of green grass, white picket fences, and bird feeders – identical to all the others in this brainwashed cul-de-sac. It was three a.m. on a Sunday and the only thing keeping me up was the whir of my hard drive. I had this intense fascination with the internet. While the rest of the natural, normal world slept, I stayed up jumping from one website to another storing each useless fact into the back of my brain for future use. I was in the middle of learning the origin of pink being associated with girls and blue with boys when I heard the screaming.
“I swear to fucking God if you set foot in this house ever again I will beat you so hard you won’t wake up for a year!” Shit, I thought, this guy was ANGRY. And before I even had time to look out my winder and observe the situation, she came crashing in. She brought my lamp down with her, which broke upon impact.