z

Young Writers Society

Hope is burning

5 Reviews

Reviews: 5
Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:28 am
Camulaeus says...

This is my first time trying anything like this. The analogy is that the cavern is my MC's chest, and that the light is Hope and the Dark is rejection, intolerance and opinions of others. Please don't criticize too harshly, I realize this probably doesn't make sense

Inside the deep dark caverns,
hollowed out with the frozen claws
so readily wielded by the eyes of scorn,
an expansion or a constriction
battle for dominance.

Flares of light
Sparked by the outward images
of smiles, laughs
shine ever so meekly in the cavern
before being doused in the cold,
Oh so cold,
shock of reality, and intolerance
of those unworthy to wield it

The depths spiral near endless now,
the lights are few and far between;
they know that the dousing
lies ever so precariously o'er their weak shine
threatening them with the clammy hands
of malicious hate

Tendrils of the dark
spurned forth by the
farthest
darkest
deepest
depths of the cavern now suffocate each light
The ice melts away unto the cave
sealing away any entrance

Now only one blinding fire remains
A single dash of purpose
in a black sea
will you cling to it?
thaw the ice
fill the cavern
escape the dark?

Or shall you fall?
Past the arms of Morpheus
into the cool hands of Death?
Delivered so easily by the mortal weapon
pressing on your head?
Escape this cavern
or cleanse it of the sins of others?
Last edited by Camulaeus on Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:14 am, edited 3 times in total.
With friends and courage one can stand against all foes, for neither man nor God can conquer those who are not alone

"109 in the sky but the pigs won't quit"

GLBT it doesn't matterone thing doesn't change who we are

67 Reviews

Reviews: 67
Sun Mar 20, 2011 5:53 am
VousEsEtonnant says...