z

Young Writers Society

Reaper

78 Reviews

Reviews: 78
Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:53 pm
pinkangel54123 says...

This is my first attempt at a short story. I hope you like it.
-----------------------------
Reaper
I could feel something watching me as I scrubbed the kitchen table in the darkness. The brushing of cloth behind me was unnerving because my parents and little sister were asleep, and I hadn’t heard anyone come in the house.
Come to us, Valerie, a deep, hypnotic voice reverberated in my head pushing my own thoughts out. We need you, Valerie.
I slowly turned around and saw at least fifty pairs of sparkling, emotionless red eyes watching my every move. The floorboards creaked under my feet as I walked towards the one closest to me. A billowing black robe covered the entity that had spoken to my thoughts. “What do you want me to do?” My voice quaked with sudden anticipation. I wasn’t sure if They were feeding it to me or if the emotion was my own.
Kill your parents, Valerie. They don’t love you. They won’t let you come with us. Kill them, and join us. I reached for the knife block on the counter and pulled out the butcher knife. It seemed as if my body wasn’t my own; however, I didn’t object to anything that They were doing to it. Gripping the butcher knife in my hand, I sidled to the door, trying my best to be soundless. The mahogany door creaked when I opened it, but my parents didn’t stir. When I was as close to their bed as was necessary, I peered at my mother’s peacefully sleeping face. I raised the knife and thrust down, but when it was only centimeters from her heart she spoke.
“Val. So sweet. So beautiful. My love,” she said. Sighing, she rolled to face my father. She did love me. They had lied to me. I swung around and tried to stab Them. As the knife hit cloth, I realized that They were made of nothing. The only part of Them I was able to see was Their gleaming eyes.
Why are you not killing them, Valerie?