z

Young Writers Society

Ghost Towns and Kansas City, MO

373 Reviews

Reviews: 373
Sat Aug 27, 2011 3:38 am
Kamas says...

There’s a cemetery down the way, a couple metres wide and a couple more long. The only good thing about this place is the ghost with the most irritating mannerisms. He is worm-chewed at his pearly white ends like wind polished marble or bone someone took the careful time to sculpt and gloss over like a prize for the mantelpiece. He comes out in his ashen glory of fading height and a mop of hair that’s neither blond nor brown but some greyed shade in between.

“I used to be in commerce, an entrepreneur” is what he rolled out to me with careful syllables.

“Most people who say that these days don’t have a job at all.”

And that made him laugh, for whatever reason. At least I think he laughed when he threw his head back with his mouth parted slightly and his shoulders shook and quivered in rhythm with the wind. I wouldn’t know, no sound came out and I’m no expert on ghosts.

“How’d you die, mister?”

After all these conversations, he still won’t tell his name maintaining he’s got to stay mysterious as a ghost can be. But I can see the way he looks at his tombstone like it were an unsent love letter or when you realize decades too late that you lost something really important.The words once carved in have been smoothed out and pressed like my mother’s linens free of lines and the fold I made over time in the bedsheets. I’m sure he can’t remember his name.And even though someone liked him enough once to have his name carved into the rasberry-grey marble for everyone to see, they clearly haven’t come around here in a long time.

“That’s an age old story friend. And it’ll take till morning to explain it.”

He paused to lick his lips, cracked and flushed down to the colour of moonstone, and to roll his tongue in thought.