z

Young Writers Society

Posting Your Stuff Online

203 Reviews

Reviews: 203
Tue May 17, 2011 5:29 pm
ofir says...

Ever since I was introduced to YWS, I feel that I have evolved so much in my writing! It has been a huge help, and I appreciate it so much!But now I am facing a problem of some sort...

I have a novel that I have been working on for nearly two years - it's very dear to me, and I've worked hard on it. Of course, one day, I'd love to see it published.

But, see, my novel has got to slim down. Too many scenarios, too many unnecessary characters and plot twists… all in all, this is exactly the point where I'd turn to YWS, yelling, "Save me!"

As said, this novel is so very precious: I get nervous thinking about it being online… where someone could "steal" it, or misuse it somehow – what can be done about that? I also want it to be published. Would publishers not want to publish it, after it was online? Would that diminish it value?

What are the answers, or at the very least, what keeps all of you calm about posting all your stuff?
"if you were waiting for the opportune moment... that was it." - Captain Jack Sparrow

1220 Reviews

Reviews: 1220
Tue May 17, 2011 5:50 pm
View Likes
Kale says...

There's an option when you go to post your work that will allow only logged-in members to view it. Down near the bottom of the page, just above the Special Formatting options, is the checkbox "Allow only registered members of YWS to view this topic". Put a check in it, and you'll be good.

In any case, if someone were to steal your writing, you can use the post dates to prove that you are the original writer in addition to providing copies of the original files. You can also remove the text of the work at any time, and even request that quoted excerpts in reviews be removed, if you're really that worried. :)