z

Young Writers Society

Divorces effects on children

15 Reviews

Reviews: 15
Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:44 pm
screamandshout says...

Ok this is something that's been on my mind lately. I've been thinking about writing a short story about a 14 year old girl, whose parents are going through a divorce. But, I want it to be fairly accurate. To her friends, she seems like the girl everyone wants to be. Pretty, a lot of friends, pretty smart, but thy don't know what's really going on at home. Her parents are still living in the same house, so there would be a lot of fighting.

Anyway, I don't really know to much about this, but when I get a new idea it bugs me until I break down and write it, so some help would be appreciated

522 Reviews

Reviews: 522
Wed Aug 11, 2010 2:16 pm
View Likes
canislupis says...

Here is a good link on negative affects of divorce.

Here is another one.

Hope I helped!

Lupis

40 Reviews

Reviews: 40
Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:45 pm
Talulahbelle says...

I'm no expert on this stuff, but my parents divorced when I was around nine. If you want to pm me, I'd be happy to tell you a bit about how it was for me and my brother. We were in that sorta perfect family image thing, too. Our family was really prominent in our small town and we were suppose to play our roles, you know?
I go to seek a Great Perhaps...

377 Reviews

Reviews: 377
Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:03 am
View Likes
seeminglymeaningless says...

screamandshout wrote:Ok this is something that's been on my mind lately. I've been thinking about writing a short story about a 14 year old girl, whose parents are going through a divorce. But, I want it to be fairly accurate. To her friends, she seems like the girl everyone wants to be. Pretty, a lot of friends, pretty smart, but thy don't know what's really going on at home. Her parents are still living in the same house, so there would be a lot of fighting.

First, don't ensure your main character becomes a Mary Sue.