z

Young Writers Society

Does every story need a deeper meaning or message?

Reviews: 0
Tue Aug 25, 2020 8:16 pm
View Likes
Alkimia says...

Now that I've started a new school year, It's time to pick a new book to write a book report on. My literature teacher lets us choose any book we like for our book report. This sounds great on the surface but then there's the book report. You see, my literature teacher says every story has a deeper meaning or message and we have to find that message and explain it across 10 pages for our book report. I'm no expert on stories or writing, but I'm pretty sure not every story out there has a deeper meaning or message. I think I only read one book last year that had a deeper message, which was Just Cause by John Katzenbach. Am I being dumb for not realizing deeper messages in books? Also, does every story really need a deeper message?

44 Reviews

Reviews: 44
Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:34 pm
View Likes
IamI says...

While dumb might be a strong word I would definitely say that all stories have themes and viewpoints that a perceptive reader should notice consciously (I should note that I rarely notice these myself), while these aren’t the same as a deeper meaning they’re in the same ballpark.

Now that I ranted randomly about something I’ll try and answer your question.