z

Young Writers Society

Crime and Sci-fi Genre

Random avatar

Reviews: 0
Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:50 am
Fiction14 says...

Hey. I’m new to writing and have mainly been doing research on various literary theories but I am struggling to fully incorporate both genre together and make them cohesive. I don’t know which conventions clash and which conventions should be subverted. However I would like to take some inspiration from the original Bladerunner (Directors Cut) but I’m afraid that I might copy it’s ideas too much.

Please Help!

8 Reviews

Reviews: 8
Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:43 pm
Koitsubaki says...

Isn't it easy? Just give the bad guys some high technology, and boom, you got yourself some crime sci-fi owo

I don't think you have to stick strictly to literary theories or get caught up with all the writing rules and conventions to write a good story. They're just guidelines that are made to guide newer writers, only to be broken later on when the newer writers become masters of their craft. When they are broken, it's what we call innovation.

For now, don't worry about the strict things like theories and conventions, because that's where new writers either get too stuck to continue. There are many ways to create a good story. What I suggest is write. Just write. Don't let that pen stop making your ideas reality, because when that pen stops, it's going to be hard to get it going again. You say you're new, so be a bit lenient on yourself. Just mix and match your ideas however you like it the most.

After that, share your stories with a community, like this one. That's when you really start learning from everyone how to write a good story.

If you want to talk a little more, I'll gladly oblige umu

~恋椿

1272 Reviews

Reviews: 1272
Sat Dec 23, 2017 11:20 pm
View Likes
Rosendorn says...

Apply genre to the end, and toss out the concept while you write/plan.