z

Young Writers Society

Blind Character Advice

93 Reviews

Reviews: 93
Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:01 am
Lefty says...

Hey, guys! I'm currently going back and revising a story I finished and I need some advice/resources.

So, in my story I have a sixteen-year-old character who goes blind after being able to see for her entire life up until this point. The tricky thing is, the story is written 1st-person duel-narritve, partially from her perspective, partially from the perspective of a friend who is helping her. I have little knowledge or real-life experience when it comes to blindness or being around someone who is blind and I feel I could write those parts better if I was better versed in the subject or knew how other writers have done it.

I think what would be most helpful to me would be recommendations of other fictional books involving blind characters, but any tips, videos or advice in general would be extremely helpful.

She goes blind due to being hit with magic and it only makes her blind for about a month, so obviously this is a very different situation than if someone were to go blind in real life, but I thought I'd mention it just in case it was helpful.

Thank you so much for any advice you may have!

-Lefty
Hear me out, there's so much more to life than what you're feeling now. Someday you'll look back on all these days, and all this pain is gonna be invisible. - Hunter Hayes

77 Reviews

Reviews: 77
Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:40 am
View Likes
FeatherPen says...

Hello Lefty,
I’m not well versed in the subject but one thing did occur to me while reading your post. That is, does she know how long she will be blind for? (it may change her attitude)And if I was to lose my sight I would probably feel quite frightened too. I can’t recall any books with a blind protagonist of the top of my head although I know I have read one or two. Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick has a protagonist who becomes deaf and may help you in terms of how the character deals with it.