z

Young Writers Society

2 questions...

802 Reviews

Supporter

Reviews: 802
Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:15 am
Dracula says...

I know there are probably already threads for both of these, but I'd appreciate some more personalised answers in your own words. :D

1. How do you show and not tell? Some of you probably read something of mine and I tend to tell a lot. Please explain it so I can understand.

2. How you tell a good, detailed and conclusive short story? If you only have about five hundred words to use, how can you write a story which... works?
I bought a cactus. A week later it died. I got depressed because I thought Damn, I am less nurturing than a desert.
-Demetri Martin

173 Reviews

Reviews: 173
Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:28 am
donizback says...

I am not an expert but I shall still answer it. :P

1. Take a lot of pictures and avoid telling about them. :3

2. Remove the introduction, the details, depth of character, and the conclusion and hopefully, you will be able to write a pretty cool short story.

P.S. I was just being silly. I hope an expert would answer you really soon. :P
Alone is what I have, alone protects me.

112 Reviews

Reviews: 112
Wed Apr 08, 2015 2:54 pm
passenger says...

I am also not an expert...haha. But I'll give you some advice. Let's take this sentence for example. "She turned her head to see the fire spreading through the forest." You're telling your reader what's happening. That's what the girl is seeing, but the reader isn't really seeing what she's seeing, right? That's where imagery and description comes in; the more detailed the better.