Young Writers Society

NaNo 18: Butterfly Chasers

1162 Reviews

Reviews: 1162
Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:19 am
View Likes
Carlito says...

Oh this novel.

I'm currently at 32,780. My goal for NaNo is to finish. I'm shooting for 65,000, so 32220 for the month, which equates to 1074 per day.
I GOT THIS.

I'm in the middle. I planned virtually nothing before I started this novel. This novel is super depressing (part of why I had to take a break from it).

In short, it's a YA contemporary (coming of age) with themes of grief/loss, friendship, and identity. And pretty strong Christian themes. I've never written a non-romance novel before, so this probably good for me, but I obviously don't know how to arc if it's not a romance arc.

Using this thread to update progress, struggles, try to hype myself, etc.
It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.

Ask a Therapist!
I want to beta read your novel!

Ask me anything. Talk to me about anything. Seriously. My PM box is always open <3

415 Reviews

Reviews: 415
Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:25 am
View Likes
keystrings says...

You've got this Carlito!
name: key/string/perks
pronouns: she/her/hers and they/them/theirs

novel: the clocktower (camp nano apr 24)
poetry: the beauty of the untold (napo 2024)

1162 Reviews

Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:38 am
View Likes
Carlito says...

Day One:

I've decided to listen to a full Christian album on each day of NaNo while I write and simply write for the duration of the album (while also hopefully using the album as inspiration?)

Album of the day: Look Up Child by Lauren Daigle
Rating: 10/10 - her voice is everything <3
Favorite songs: You Say; Everything
Most Meredith (MC) songs: Rescue; Look Up Child

Words today: 1078
Total NaNo words: 1078
Total novel word count: 33858

Thoughts while writing:
-How do I even start because I stopped at such a random place 2 1/2 months ago and what is even going on in this novel?
-I read the last chapter I wrote and maaaaaaaaan the feels. Like this doozy: