Young Writers Society

Stay.

74 Reviews

Reviews: 74
Sun Jan 22, 2012 5:24 pm
View Likes
LemonyIce says...

Spoiler! :
This was sudden, and inspired by a picture. It is what it is, and I'm just happy I finally managed to write something that's not related to my studies. In case you're interested, this is the picture:

I'm not good with titles, by the way. >.>

"Mommy?"

The little girl looked up at her mother, her big brown eyes open wide. Her red hair was tied up in pigtails, and she was fairly chubby. They were walking down the street towards their home.

"Yes, Bea?" The mother looked down at her daughter, smiling.
"Does everyone go to heaven?" This question came as a surprise to the mother and she stopped on the path; she had not been expecting such a question from her four year old daughter. "Why, yes sweetie, they do," she replied, almost immediately.

"And do they have chocolate in heaven?" continued the child.
"Well, I suppose so, dear. Why?"
"Because if they don't, I don't want to go."
"In that case, yes, they do have chocolate in heaven." The mother was smiling at her daughter's innocence. "Okay." The little girl fell silent and stared down at her neon green light-up-at-every-step shoes as they continued walking.

"Mommy?" she asked again, after a few minutes.
"Yes, sweetie?" The mother looked down at her daughter once more.
"Will you also go to heaven?" The mother stared at her daughter for a few minutes, wondering why she was asking such questions all of a sudden. She stopped walking once again. "Why do you ask, Bea?"
"Because if mommy's not there either, I don't want to go to heaven." The mother stopped and looked down properly at her daughter. She saw the look of pure innocence and felt troubled. What would her child do if she, her mother, left the world? This child was too innocent, too pure.